homepage logo


2020 All Lakes Conference Volleyball – Four ELC players honored for league play

Thiel named to first team

By David Swartz - Managing Editor | Nov 8, 2020

Kya Thiel

Four Estherville Lincoln Central volleyball payers earned All-Lakes Conference honors for their play this season and five ELC players were honored with academic all-conference honors.

Kya Thiel earned first team honors. The junior had 81 kills and 32 blocks for the season with 21 and eight, respectively in Lakes Conference play. The was also 26-of-of-284 serving for 94 percent with 22 aces this season.

Senior Brenna Evans earned second team honors. She had 85 kills and 17 blocks this season.

Earning honorable mention all-conference were senior Kendyl Ruschy and junior Madison Norton.

Ruschy had 442 set assists this season with 90 in conference play. For the season, she was 279-of-309 serving with 33 aces.

Norton led ELC in kills this season with 134 with 24 of those coming in conference play. She also had 144 digs this season. She was 162 of 199 serving with 28 aces for the season.

Seniors earning Academic All-Conference honors were Carly Grange, Adelee Reinhardt, Kendyl Ruschy and Maggie White. Brenna Evans earned Honorable Mention Academic All-Conference.

“We also want to congratulate all of the girls on the volleyball team,” said ELC coach Jean Jensen.

“Overall they had a grade point average of 3.659. This is a very high grade point average for a group of 42 girls!”

ELC finished 1-4 in Lakes Conference play to tie for fifth with Storm Lake. Perennial power Western Christian went 5-0 in the Lakes Conference and wrapped up play last week in the Class 2A State Tournament. The Wolfpack lost in straight sets in the semifinals to Denver.

2020 Lakes Conference

Volleyball Standings

Conf O’all

Western Christian 5-0 33-10

Cherokee 4-1 16-11

Spencer 2-3 7-6

ELC 1-4 12-11

Storm Lake 1-4 3-18

2020 Lakes Conference

All-Conference Volleyball

First Team

Grace Anderson – Cherokee

JaMae Nichols – Cherokee**

Kya Thiel – ELC

Allison Piercy – Spencer**

Maci Higgins – Spirit Lake**

Sienna Moss – W. Christian

Madison Vis – W. Christian**

Jaylin Van Dyken – W. Christian**

Stella Winterfeld – W. Christian**

** = Unanimous

Second Team

Molly Pitts – Cherokee

Teagan Slaughter – Cherokee

Camille Zweifel – Cherokee

Brenna Evans – ELC

Albany Brown – Spencer

Payton Cooper – Spencer

Alyssa Rouse – Spencer

Brooke Smith – Spirit Lake

Holly Dierenfield – Storm Lake

Abby Ver Burg – Western Christian

Emma Westphal – Western Christian

Lydia Van Kley – Western Christian

 Honorable Mention

Jada Timmerman – Cherokee

Alexis Pingel – Cherokee

Kendyl Ruschy – ELC

Maddie Norton – ELC

Karenna Hoben – Spencer

Abby Horst – Spencer

Elsie Parriot – Spirit Lake

Mackenzie Kauffman – Spirit Lake

Amy Slight – Storm Lake

Mary Yanga – Storm Lake

Hanna Kollis – Western Christian

Ellie Dokter – Western Christian