homepage logo


Christensen headed to Shrine Bowl

By David Swartz - Managing Editor | Mar 1, 2021

Estherville Lincoln

Central senior Matt

Christensen learned about

the history of the Iowa

Shrine Bowl and his responsibilities

as a participant

last week.

Iowa Shrine Board of

Directors President Dean

Jacobsen visited with

Christensen and ELC football

coach Ryan Rezac on


Jacobsen explained that

the Shriners organization

began as a fraternal

club by members of the

community. At one point,

they decided they needed

to do something more.

That’s when the Shriner’s

Hospital for Children came

into existence.

Th Iowa Iowa Shrine

Bowl is an annual allstar

football game, which

also raises money for the

Shriner’s Hospital.

Jacobsen talked about

the selection process.

The Iowa Shrine Board

of Directors selects head

football coaches for both

the North and South

squads. The dividing line

is Highway 30. The head

football coach selects a

staff of assistant coaches.

Jacobsen said the head

coaches are encouraged

to select assistant coaches

throughout the state, so

there is a familiarity with

the players being considered

for the Shrine Bowl.

This year will be the

49th Annual Iowa Shrine

Bowl All Star Football

Classic. It will be held at

the UNI-Dome in Cedar

Falls on Saturday, Jan. 24.

A Shrine parade will be

held down main street of

Cedar Falls at 9:30 a.m.

The game is at 4 p.m.

During the week prior

to the Shrine Bowl, players

also make a visit to

the Shriner’s Hospital in


Estherville/ELC Shrine

Bowl Selections

2021 Matt Heinrichs

2019 Brian Egeland

2017 Giovanni Esteves

2015 Justin Heinrichs

2009 Justin Blinkmann

2009 Spenser Schichtl

2007 Clayton Eggers

2001 Jason Quastad

2000 Jesse Nitchals

1999 Jeremy Bonner

1998 Brett Mortimore

1997 Brad Beck

1993 Aaron Ruschy

1991 Jeremy Truog

1989 Mike Guge

1988 Wes Niles

1981 Mark Heywood

1975 Ralph Bonner

*tFormer ELC coach Jerry

Shultz was an assistant

coach in the Shrine game

in 1996 and was head

coach of the North squad

in 2009