ELC music department closes year on beautiful note


The ELC music department presented a concert and awards ceremony May 11 to honor graduating seniors, members of honor bands and choir, the large group superior ratings at contest, outstanding soloist awards, and the color guard.

The concert also highlighted the new band shell the ELC Patrons of the Fine Arts purchased through fundraising, replacing the chocolate brown set said to be from ancient of days, or at least a half century.

These seniors earned instrumental music awards:

Carly Grange - Directors Award

Scott Whitacre - Louis Armstrong Jazz Award

Allison Young - John Philip Sousa Award

Brendan Finley - Marching Band Spirit Award

Emma Ross - National School Color Guard Award

Cole Danner - Quincy Jones Award

The ELC color guard earned a Division 1 Rating and 3rd Place in Class 2 Color Guard at the ISDTA Team Dance Competition. The color guard includes seniors Emma Ross and Brenna Evans as well as Anna Theesfeld, Ava Huntley, Abby Sander, Gracen Love, and Quimby Ross

Shelby Brosh, Grace Lutat, Allison Young, Grace Johnson, Lakeisha Smith, Scott Whitacre, and Emma Ross earned Jazz soloist awards.

Emily Bethune, Grace Lutat, Shelby Brosch, Maggie Domek and Allison Young were accepted as members of the 2021 NCIBA Honor Ban.

Grace Lutat - Sophomore, Parker Duitsman - Freshmen, and Anthony Rivera - Junior were named outstanding underclassmen in the band.

Photos submitted.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here