ELC wins first dual of 2019-20


SPIRIT LAKE - Estherville Lincoln Central picked up its first dual win of the season with a 51-29 victory over Lakes Conference rival Western Christian on Thursday.

The Midgets didn't fare quite as well against Spirit Lake, as the Indians won 52-28 over the Midgets.

Western Christian only sent out seven wrestlers, but the Wolfpack won five of those matches. ELC accepted forfeits at the other seven weights.

For ELC, Brigham Vermeys (132) won an 8-3 decision and Zavion McMurran (195) won by fall against the Wolfpack.

Against Spirit Lake, Quintin Marquez (120) won a 9-1 major decision while Garrett Paulson (170), and McMurran (195) both won by fall. Spirit Lake forfeited to ELC at 106 and 182 pounds.

ELC 51, Western Christian 29

106: Isaac Reineke (ELCH) over (WCHU) (For.) 113: Jaciel Castro (ELCH) over (WCHU) (For.) 120: Quintin Marquez (ELCH) over (WCHU) (For.) 126: Michael Houge (ELCH) over (WCHU) (For.) 132: Brigham Vermeys (ELCH) over Keegan Van Surksum (WCHU) (Dec 8-3) 138: Elliot Carney (WCHU) over Morgan Dalen (ELCH) (Fall 0:23) 145: Jace Mulder (WCHU) over Zack Anderson (ELCH) (TF 16-0 3:12) 152: Cruz Hernandez (ELCH) over (WCHU) (For.) 160: Garrett Paulson (ELCH) over (WCHU) (For.) 170: Carson Vanderziel (WCHU) over Ashton Bradley (ELCH) (Fall 3:28) 182: Dawson Shasteen (ELCH) over (WCHU) (For.) 195: Zavion McMurran (ELCH) over Eli Van Ginkel (WCHU) (Fall 3:30) 220: Levi Vanden Bos (WCHU) over James Woodyard (ELCH) (Fall 0:41) 285: Noah Jansma (WCHU) over Jess Christensen (ELCH) (Fall 1:13)

Spirit Lake 52, ELC 28

120: Quintin Marquez (ELCH) over Eric Tapia (SPLA) (MD 9-1) 126: Carson Richards (SPLA) over Michael Houge (ELCH) (Fall 3:50) 132: Jack Wajda (SPLA) over Brigham Vermeys (ELCH) (Fall 0:42) 138: Josh Jackson (SPLA) over Morgan Dalen (ELCH) (Fall 1:03) 145: Isaac Dixon (SPLA) over Zack Anderson (ELCH) (Fall 3:38) 152: Zach Jensen (SPLA) over Cruz Hernandez (ELCH) (Fall 3:00) 160: Lucas Gunderson (SPLA) over Raul Diaz (ELCH) (MD 9-1) 170: Garrett Paulson (ELCH) over Tyler Jurva (SPLA) (Fall 1:21) 182: Dawson Shasteen (ELCH) over (SPLA) (For.) 195: Zavion McMurran (ELCH) over Wyatt Lorch (SPLA) (Fall 1:20) 220: Max Miller (SPLA) over James Woodyard (ELCH) (Fall 0:20) 285: Sawyer Thompson (SPLA) over Jess Christensen (ELCH) (Fall 1:04) 106: Isaac Reineke (ELCH) over (SPLA) (For.) 113: Jonathon Burnette (SPLA) over Jaciel Castro (ELCH) (Fall 1:14)


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here